London Critics' Circle Film Awards 2019: 'The Favourite' Claims 10 Nominations
Fox Searchlight Pictures

Aside from the other nods, the period drama sees its stars, Olivia Colman and Rachel Weisz, in contention against one another for the title of British/Irish Actress of the Year.

AceShowbiz - "The Favourite looks set for a big night at the London Critics' Circle Film Awards after receiving 10 nominations on Tuesday, December 18.

The period drama, about two cousins vying for the attention of Queen Anne, bagged nominations in categories including Film of the Year, British/Irish Film of the Year, and Director of the Year for Yorgos Lanthimos. Its stars Olivia Colman and Rachel Weisz will compete for general acting prizes as well as a British/Irish acting award at the ceremony in January, 2019.

Other top nominees include "You Were Never Really Here", "Roma", "Cold War", and "Leave No Trace", which are all nominated for Film of the Year alongside "First Reformed", "First Man", "The Happy Prince", "BlacKkKlansman", and "Shoplifters".

The other films up for British/Irish Film of the Year are "You Were Never Really Here", "The Happy Prince", "Apostasy" and "Beast".

In the Actress of the Year category, Colman will face Glenn Close ("The Wife"), Yalitza Aparicio ("Roma"), Joanna Kulig ("Cold War"), and Toni Collette ("Hereditary"). For the equivalent male award there will be a battle between Christian Bale ("Vice (2018)"), Rupert Everett ("The Happy Prince"), Ben Foster ("Leave No Trace"), Ethan Hawke ("First Reformed"), and Joaquin Phoenix ("You Were Never Really Here").

"Black Panther" actor Michael B. Jordan receives a mention for his villainous supporting turn in the Marvel movie, and will go up against his co-star Daniel Kaluuya, who is nominated for his work in "Widows". They will face "BlacKkKlansman"'s Adam Driver, Richard E. Grant ("Can You Ever Forgive Me?") and Alessandro Nivola ("Disobedience").

As well as Weisz, the supporting actress nominees are Elizabeth Debicki ("Widows"), Cynthia Erivo ("Bad Times at the El Royale"), Claire Foy ("First Man") and Regina King ("If Beale Street Could Talk").

The Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film will be bestowed upon Spanish director Pedro Almodovar at the event at London's May Fair Hotel on January 20, 2019.

Film of the Year:

Foreign Language Film of the Year:

Documentary of the Year:

British/Irish Film of the Year:

Director of the Year:

Screenwriter of the Year:

Actress of the Year:

Actor of the Year:

Supporting Actress of the Year:

Supporting Actor of the Year:

British/Irish Actress of the Year:

British/Irish Actor of the Year:

Young British/Irish Performer of the Year:

Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker:

British/Irish Short Film:

  • "Little S**t" - Richard Gorodecky
  • "Night Out" - Amelia Hashemi
  • "Salt & Sauce" - Alia Ghafar
  • "Three Centimetres" - Lara Zeidan
  • "Under Growth" - Evin O'Neill

Technical Achievement Award:

The Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film: Pedro Almodovar

You can share this post!

Related Posts