'Ted Lasso' and 'The Late Show' Among Winners at 2021 Peabody Awards
Apple TV+/CBS

Along with 'Time' and 'Asian Americans', Jason Sudeikis' hit TV comedy and Stephen Colbert's late night talk show are among the first batch of winners for the annual awards.

AceShowbiz - Jason Sudeikis' hit TV comedy "Ted Lasso" and America's "The Late Show With Stephen Colbert" are among the early winners at the 2021 Peabody Awards.

"Ted Lasso" and "The Late Show" were celebrated in the Entertainment category, while the filmmakers behind "Time" and "Asian Americans" were applauded in the Documentary section by jurors at the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication panel at the University of Georgia.

Being presented with the award by "Saturday Night Live" alum Will Ferrell, Sudeikis said in his acceptance speech, "I mean, what can I say? It really knocks our socks off. We hope that we can all put a little of this Ted Lasso vibe in our everyday lives and you've certainly put a pep in our step." He added, "So, thank you and wish you all the best."

Stephen Colbert, on the other hand, accepted the kudo for his show from presenter Steve Carell. In his speech, he said, "There's this parable I think about from the gospel of Luke about the dangers of putting new wine in old bottles, which feels like what we've been trying to do for the past six years, take this TV format, which has been with us for almost 70 years and put our new wine in it."

"I'm so gratified that you liked the vintage," the 57-year-old TV host went on expressing his gratitude. "Now that I've used that wine metaphor, everything I drank during quarantine can be written off as a business expense."

Producers of popular podcast "Floodlines", which explored the impact of 2005's Hurricane Katrina, were named winners of the Podcast/Radio award, "Full Disclosure" and "China Undercover" triumphed in the News category, and the animated "The Owl House" topped the Children's & Youth shortlist.

Sandra Oh, D.L. Hughley, Charlamagne tha God, Brittany Packnett Cunningham, Hasan Minhaj and Kristen Bell were among other presenters.

The first batch of winners for the annual awards, which recognize the most compelling and empowering shows of the year, were announced online on Monday, June 21, with additional honors unveiled each day until Thursday.

You can share this post!

Related Posts