SAG Awards 2020: Tony Shalhoub and Phoebe Waller-Bridge Among Early Winners
WENN/Adriana M. Barraza

'The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel' has also scored a win for Ensemble in a Comedy Series, while the stunt teams of 'Avengers: Endgame' and 'Game of Thrones' nail the Outstanding Action Performance kudos.

AceShowbiz - Tony Shalhoub and Phoebe Waller-Bridge were the first big winners at the Screen Actors Guild Awards on Sunday night, January 19.

The stars picked up the Outstanding Male Actor and Female Actor in a Comedy Series gongs for their roles in "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel" and "Fleabag", respectively.

The cast of "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel" was stunned to receive the award for Ensemble in a Comedy Series, with co-star Alex Borstein catching censors unaware with an expletive as she accepted the honour onstage.

Confessing she "voted for Fleabag", Borstein urged castmates to join her at the microphone, handing the award to Rachel Brosnahan and stating, "Somebody else f**king say something!"

The stunt teams of "Avengers: Endgame" and "Game of Thrones" were also early winners, claiming the Outstanding Action Performance by a Stunt Ensemble in a Motion Picture and TV Series, respectively, and there were also early triumphs for Laura Dern and Brad Pitt for their supporting roles in "Marriage Story" and "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood", respectively.

Accepting his award, Pitt joked, "I'm gonna add this to my Tinder profile", before poking fun at his director, Quentin Tarantino. Commending his co-stars - and their feet - Pitt added, "Quentin has separated more women from their shoes than the TSA (Transportation Security Administration)!"

There was also a special moment for the cast of South Korean movie "Parasite", who were given a standing ovation as they stepped out to present their film, which is nominated for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture.

The 26th annual SAG Awards are underway at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles with Robert De Niro receiving the revered SAG Life Achievement Award, presented by Leonardo DiCaprio. Both are also nominated for their films, "The Irishman" and "Once Upon a Time in Hollywood".

You can share this post!

Related Posts