'The Walking Dead' and 'Star Wars: The Force Awakens' Win Big at 2016 Saturn Awards

The zombie-themed series leads the pack of TV winners with three awards, while the seventh installment of the 'Star Wars' movie franchise dominates the film categories with eight nods.

AceShowbiz - The winners of the 42nd annual Saturn Awards were announced on Wednesday night, June 22 at the ceremony taking place in Burbank, California. Among those coming home victorious were "The Walking Dead" and "Star Wars: The Force Awakens".

"The Walking Dead" scored the most nods among other TV series, snatching the awards for Best Horror TV Series, Best Supporting Actress on Television (%cDanai Gurira%) and Best Younger TV Actor (%cChandler Riggs%).

"Outlander" and "Hannibal" bagged two nods each, with the former being named Best Fantasy TV Series and helping %cCaitriona Balfe% win the honor for Best Actress on Television. "Hannibal", meanwhile, was dubbed Best Action/Thriller TV Series and landed another gong through %cRichard Armitage%'s guest-starring performance.

"Continuum" won Best Science Fiction TV Series, "The Flash" was Best Superhero Adaptation Television Series and Netflix's "Daredevil" was hailed as Best New Media TV Series. Additionally, %cBruce Campbell% won Best Actor on Television for his role on "Ash vs Evil Dead".

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" grabbed eight awards, including Best Science Fiction Film, Best Actor (%cHarrison Ford%) and Best Supporting Actor (%cAdam Driver%) among other titles. "Crimson Peak" claimed three nods, Best Horror Film, Best Supporting Actress (%cJessica Chastain%) and Best Production Design (Thomas E. Sanders).

"Ant-Man" grabbed one for being the best comic-adapted movie, "Cinderella" was named Best Fantasy Film, "Furious 7" was dubbed Best Action/Adventure Film, "Bridge of Spies" was Best Thriller Film, "Inside Out (2015)" was chosen as Best Animated Film and "Room" was dubbed Best Independent Film.

"Mad Max: Fury Road" star %cCharlize Theron% won Best Actress, four-time Academy Award nominee Ridley Scott was hailed as Best Director for his work on "The Martian", and "Jurassic World" star %cTy Simpkins% won Best Performance by a Younger Actor.

The Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films also handed out Special Achievement Awards, including The Lifetime Achievement Award for %cNichelle Nichols% who played Lt. Uhura on the original "Star Trek" series. "Supergirl" star %cMelissa Benoist% landed the Breakthrough Performance Award, "Supernatural" creator Eric Kripke was honored with The Dan Curtis Legacy Award, and movie writer Simon Kinberg nabbed the George Pal Memorial Award.


  • Best Science Fiction TV Series: "Continuum"
  • Best Horror TV Series: "The Walking Dead"
  • Best Action/Thriller TV Series: "Hannibal"
  • Best Fantasy TV Series: "Outlander"
  • Best Presentation on Television: "Doctor Who: The Husbands of River Song"
  • Best Superhero Adaptation Television Series: "The Flash"
  • Best New Media TV Series: "Marvel's Daredevil"
  • Best Actor on Television: %cBruce Campbell% ("Ash vs Evil Dead")
  • Best Actress on Television: %cCaitriona Balfe% ("Outlander")
  • Best Supporting Actor on Television: %cRichard Armitage% ("Hannibal")
  • Best Supporting Actress on Television: %cDanai Gurira% ("The Walking Dead")
  • Best Younger TV Actor: %cChandler Riggs% ("The Walking Dead")
  • Best Guest Star on Television: %cWilliam Shatner% ("Haven")
  • The Lifetime Achievement Award: %cNichelle Nichols%
  • The Dan Curtis Legacy Award: Eric Kripke
  • The Breakthrough Performance Award: %cMelissa Benoist% ("Supergirl")
  • George Pal Memorial Award: Simon Kinberg
  • Special Recognition Award: Brannon Braga
  • President's Award: "Haven"

You can share this post!

Related Posts